Flamingo Top – Simplicity 3835

11667456_10153030815638099_6756246553988859003_n

I’ve made a couple of Simplicity 3835 tops, and three dresses. I like them all. They are simple, but effective, comfortable and they look good on. I bought the flamingo material in Edinburgh Fabrics, a fabric shop near where I work. I made the top for my friend for her birthday. I had hoped to give it to her in time, but the last couple of weeks have been so tiring, I didn’t get a chance to do anything FUN.

11666243_10153030869843099_3219139892946122877_n

I had enough material to make a second top – almost! I just ran out of material for the sleeves. So I looked through my fabric stash and found the red feathers from the Turkey Feather skirt I made last year and it matched perfectly, I thought. I didn’t have enough turkey feather fabric to make two whole sleeves either so I had to patchwork them together. I like the effect. I’m looking forward to sewing it together. The top took hardly any time to make at all.

10277548_10152670358953099_6315973949910399305_n

This is a better view of the actual fabric. I’m not altogether sure I like it, but it suits the top.

Sewing is taking up a lot of my imagination and thought at the moment. I use it to stop myself from feeling sad and stressed. The past couple of weeks have been hard. Last weekend we spent two whole days looking for a new car, which we eventually found at the end of the second day, but that was tiring. And the third day of the weekend (I work Monday to Thursday) we visited my mother-in-law who needs attention. So, no weekend last week. This weekend has been better, but still stuff to do. Always stuff to do. (And I mean non-fun stuff.)

And then we have had our chickens disappearing on us one by one. There is a fox (maybe even a family of foxes) nearby. I bumped into it halfway down the drive on my way to work mid-week. I shouted at it and chased it and it ran away, and then we set up a music station to play music near the hen house, and that helped, until today when we returned home to find our music not playing and another chicken gone. She had become my favourite chicken. She was a big, black Orpington. Beautiful black feathers with a green sheen. I loved her because when she first came to us she had a terrible attitude. We almost gave her away to a petting farm. Once we had integrated her into our existing flock, she would stand in the doorway, barring the other chickens from getting in at bedtime. But then she became broody, and we put two lots of fertilised eggs under her and she hatched two sets of chicks. She was a great mother. Very fierce and protective, until it was time for her chicks to become independent and that was the end of motherhood. I also liked her because she was the only chicken who would stand up to our neighbours’ cat. The other chickens would let themselves be chased, but Delphis would peck Cherry and it would be Cherry who ran away.

I’m also not looking forward to tomorrow as I’m taking my mother to see her cancer consultant. I feel unequal to the task.

Leave a Reply

