Baileys Prize for Fiction

19612_10152862459073099_5651705796828275582_n

Disappointed my old classmate Sandra Newman isn’t on the shortlist tonight for the Baileys Prize for Fiction for writing The Country of Ice Cream Star. I mean, come on, with a title like that?!

The only book on the shortlist I’ve read is The Paying Guests by Sarah Waters. And I like Sarah Waters. I thought The Little Stranger was a faultless book. An amazing, sustained piece of writing. And I liked the beginning of The Paying Guests, but then it descended into, ‘will they, won’t they’, ‘are they, aren’t they,’ to-ing and fro-ing, and I found it facile.

Leave a Reply

